The Year From Hell! My “Herxing” experience…

None - This image is in the public domain and ...

Borrelia burgdorferi, the spirochete that causes Lyme Disease. FA stain (CDC) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I finally accepted the Lyme treatment protocol, and began traveling to Missouri to see a Lyme Literate Dr. early in 2011. Let’s get rid of these little buggers!!  During those months of treatment, there were days when I wasn’t sure if it was the Lyme Disease killing me or the medication!  You see, even though you are “getting better”, you at times will feel AWFUL!  The pain can be unbearable at times, and show up ANYWHERE, unannounced and unexpectedly!  The Jarisch-Herxheimer reaction (referred to as “Herx” often) is believed to be a reaction caused by the bacteria dying off and releasing toxins into the body faster than the body may comfortably handle it.  This herxing is very discouraging, because it is hard to understand why you feel WORSE, when you are supposed to be getting better!  During this time, I lost my job as an Office Manager after being there for 7 years!  I was SO heartbroken, but God knew, that this would be the ONLY way that I would stop, be still, and heal.  The worst part, my husband had recently lost his job!  So there we were, totally brought to our knees, praying to God to help us!

Leave a Reply

